EC announces Assembly Poll dates for 5 States; Counting on Dec 11

ONI Bureau:  The Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat on Saturday announced dates for upcoming assembly polls in five states — Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Mizoram and Telangana.

The Model Code of Conduct in these states comes into effect immediately, Election Commissioner OP Rawat said.

While Madhya Pradesh and Mizoram assembly elections to be held on 28th November, Rajasthan and Telangana will go to polls on December 7.

Meantime, elections in Chhattisgarh will be held in two phases. The first phase of voting will be held on November 12 for 18 assembly constituencies, while the second phase of polls will be held on November 20 for 72 constituencies.

Counting of votes for all the five states will be done on December 11, EC informed.

Assembly PollselectionElection CommissionerOP Rawatpolitics