10 Odisha districts under shutdown for 48 hours

Odisha government had announced the Saturday-Sunday 48-hour shutdown in 10 districts to contain coronavirus. The ten districts where the weekend shutdown was declared are Ganjam, Gajapati, Khurda, Cuttack, Jagatsinghpur, Jajpur, Balasore, Mayurbhanj, Keonjhar and Jharsuguda. Nevertheless, collectors of seven other districts decided to impose the 48-hour shutdown in their particular districts because of the rising number of COVID positive cases.

The seven districts are Rayagada, Koraput, Kandhamal, Kendrapara, Balangir, Bargarh and Dhenkanal. The state government had already commenced the weekend shutdown in several districts last month in its move to check the spread of coronavirus.