Congress forms Screening Committees for five States

The Congress on Friday set up screening committees for Assembly polls later this year in Odisha, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh and Mizoram which will go to the polls next year.

According to a party release, former Union Minister Kumari Selja will head the screening committee for Rajasthan which will have Lalitesh Tripathi and Shakir Sanadi as members.

Screening committees examine recommendations of the state units for ticket allocation and give their own recommendation to the party’s Central Election Committee which takes the final decision.

Party leader Madhushudan Mistry will head the screening committee for Madhya Pradesh which has Netta D’Souza and Ajay Kumar Lallu as members.

The screening committee for Chhattisgarh will be headed by former Assam Congress chief Bhubaneswar Kalita and will have Rohit Choudhary and Ashvinbhai Kotwal as members.

Party leader from Kerala V.D. Satheesan has been appointed Chairperson of Odisha screening committee and Jiten Prasada and Naushad Solanki are its members.

Former Goa Chief Minister Luizinho Faleiro will be the Chairperson of the screening committee for Mizoram.

The committees have been constituted by party President Rahul Gandhi. (IANS) 

Assembly PollsChhattisgarhCongressMadhya PradeshMizoramOdishapoliticsRajasthanScreening Committees