Dharmendra Pradhan to be Rajya Sabha Candidate from Madhya Pradesh

ONI Bureau:   The BJP on Wednesday released a list of eight candidates including seven Union Ministers and one general secretary for the elections to the Rajya Sabha, be held on March 23.

As per the notice issued by the BJP’s Central Election Committee, the Union Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, who hails from Odisha will field for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections from Madhya Pradesh (MP).

Earlier, Dharmendra was elected to Rajya Sabha from Bihar in 2012 and his tenure will end on April 2018.

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley will contest the Rajya Sabha elections from Uttar Pradesh while Social Justice Minister Thawarchand Gehlot will contest from Madhya Pradesh, Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad from Bihar and J P Nadda from Himachal Pradesh.

Meantime, Manusukh Mandaviya and Parshottam Rupala will contest from Gujarat and Bhupender Yadav, the party’s general secretary will contest from Rajasthan.

Dharmendra PradhanelectionMadhya PradeshOdishapoliticsRajya Sabha