Election of BJD’s Nabarangpur Zilla Parishad Chairperson declared invalid

ONI Bureau:  In a setback to the ruling BJD, the District & Sessions Judge declared the election of party’s Nabarangpur Zilla Parishad chairperson Bhagabati Bhatra invalid.

While hearing a petition alleging violation of rules during election, the District & Sessions court announced today.

Worth mentioning, Zilla Parishad chairpersons were elected across 28 districts in Odisha. Out of the 28 districts in the state, BJD won in 12 Zilla Parishads, followed by BJP in 8 and Congress in just one. There was however no clear majority in nine Zilla Parishads.

BJDNabarangpurOdishapoliticsZilla Parishad Chairperson