Odisha lose to Rajasthan in Ranji Trophy

After suffering an innings defeat against Delhi in just two days in the previous game, Odisha suffered another heavy loss (by 10 wickets) against Rajasthan in the Ranji Trophy at Gandhi Stadium in Balangir. Rajasthan, which scored 305 in the first innings, enforced follow-on after bowling Odisha for 144.

Thanks to Vineet Saxena’s 106, Chetan Dinesh Bist’s 51 and Deepak Chahar’s 57*, Rajasthan made 305. Basant Mohanty took four wickets for Odisha, while Deepak Behera took two wickets. Odisha bowled out for just 144 in the first innings. Anurag Sarangi was the lone fighter, as he scored 47. No other batsmen could reach even 20. Pankaj Singh and Deepak Chahar took four wickets each for Rajasthan.

Odisha lost four wickets for just 44 runs and were staring at yet another innings defeat. However, Anurag Sarangi (56) and Pratik Das (45) batted well to avoid that. Odisha bowled out for 199 in the second innings, setting a victory target of 39 for Rajasthan. Tanveer-Ul-Haq took 4 wickets, while Pankaj Singh took 3 wickets.

Rajasthan achieved the target without losing any wicket. Vineet Saxena, who scored a hundred in the first innings, was declared ‘Man of the Match’. In this Ranji season, Odisha had held Karnataka and Vidarbha to draw, but lost to Gujarat and Delhi. The team managed to defeat Haryana on a green turf wicket in Rohtak. This is Odisha’s third loss in the sixth match. The Odisha-Rajasthan tie was historic for people of Balangir, as their town hosted its first-ever Ranji match.

BalangirOdishaPankaj SinghRajasthanRanji TrophyVineet Saxena