India script history; win first-ever cricket Test series in Australia

ONI Bureau:  India scripted history, as they won their first-ever Test series in Australia with a 2-1 scoreline with the fourth and final Test was abandoned due to rain on Monday.

While India scored 622/7 in their first innings in the 2018-19 Border-Gavaskar Trophy series, Australia bowled out for 300 before getting the follow-on. They were 6/0 when rain stopped play yesterday.

As the pitch condition deteriorated further with rains lashing Sydney, the umpires called off the game and it was declared as Draw.

With this victory, Virat Kohli became first Indian and Asian captain to win a Test series in Australia.

Cheteshwar Pujara was declared ‘Man of the Match’ & ‘Man of the Series’.


India 622/7 declared (Mayank 77, Pujara 193, Hanuma 42, Pant 159*, Jadeja 81; Lyon 4/178, Hazlewood 2/105).

Australia 300 (Harris 79, Labuschagne 38, Handscomb 37; Kuldeep 5/99, Shami 2/58, Jadeja 2/73) & 6/0.

AustraliacricketIndiasportsSydney TestTest SeriesVirat Kohli