Odisha News Insight

Sumit Mazumdar elected as President of CII for 2015-16

Sumit-MazumdarMr. Sumit Mazumdar, Chairman & Managing Director, TIL Limited, has been elected as the President of CII for the year 2015-16. He succeeds Mr. Ajay Shriram as the new President. TIL is the manufacturer of India’s largest range of material handling equipment in technical collaboration with world leaders – Manitowoc Crane Group, USA; Hyster (a part of NACCO Materials Handling Group, USA); Astec Industries, USA; Paceco Corp, USA (a part of Mitsui Engineering and Shipbuilding, Japan) and Mitsui Miike Machinery Co, Japan (a part of Mitsui Group).

Mr. Mazumdar is also the Executive Chairman of TIPL (Tractors India Pvt. Ltd.).  The Company is a distributor for Caterpillar, USA, in India, Nepal and Bhutan for earthmoving, construction, mining equipment and power systems.

A graduate of St Xavier’s College, Calcutta, Mr Mazumdar obtained a Master’s in Business Administration from Sam Houston State University, Texas, USA.  He also undertook the Advanced Management Program at Harvard University, Massachusetts, USA.

Dr. Naushad Forbes, Director, Forbes Marshall, has become the President-designate of CII for the year 2015-16. Forbes Marshall is India’s leading Steam Engineering and Control Instrumentation firm. He chairs the Steam Engineering Companies within the group.

NaushadHe has been a Lecturer and Consulting Professor at Stanford University in the Program in Science, Technology and Society from 1987 to 2004. He developed courses in Technology and Policy as well the Management of Technology in Firms in Newly Industrialized Countries. He has written widely on innovation in developing countries and higher education in India, including a book, ‘From Followers to Leaders’, co-authored with David Wield. He has received his Bachelors, Masters and PhD Degrees from Stanford University.

Dr. Forbes is on the Advisory Council of IIT Bombay; Board of Directors of Godrej Industries, Kirloskar Oil Engines and Jump Associates, California; Governing Council of National Institute of Design and India Design Council; Trustee of  Ruby Hall Clinic.

He has held several positions in the Confederation of Indian Industry (CII). He has been the Chairman of the CII National Committee on Higher Education for the past two years, Past Chairman of the National Innovation Council 2012-13 & 2011-12.  He is the Past Chairman of the CII Western Region (2009-10); Past Chairman of the CII Maharashtra State Council and CII Pune Zonal Council.

ShobhanaMs Shobana Kamineni, Executive Vice-Chairperson, Apollo Hospitals Enterprises Limited (AHEL)* has been elected as Vice-President of CII for the year 2015-16. Championing Special Initiatives for over 7 years, Ms Kamineni had directed the company’s diversification into several new domains, all of which have been largely responsible for Apollo’s emergence as Asia’s foremost integrated healthcare organization.

Ms Kamineni, continues to help the Apollo Global Projects Consultancy that steers the planning, design and execution of new projects.  She also heads Apollo Pharmacy, presently the fastest growing business within AHEL. Apollo Pharmacy is now India’s largest pharmacy chain with a pan-India network of over 2000 stores, 14000 employees and it serves 1,50,000 customers a day.

She holds a B.A. in Economics  from Stella Maris College, Chennai and an accelerated Diploma in Hospital Administration from Columbia University, New York.

Leave a comment