Odisha News Insight

10 Parties to march Rashtrapati Bhavan against Land Bill

Sonia Gandhi  and Manmohan SinghSenior leaders of ten Opposition parties will take out a march to the Rashtrapati Bhavan on Tuesday against the Land Acquisition Bill. The parties include Congress, Samajwadi Party, TMC, DMK, Janta Dal (U) and CPI (M). These parties have been continuously opposing the amendments proposed in the Bill terming them as anti-farmer.
Congress President Sonia Gandhi and former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh will lead the march with other veteran leaders of at least ten parties from Parliament House to Rashtrapati Bhavan and submit a memorandum against the new Land Bill.
Former Prime Minister and JDS chief H D Devegowda, CPI-M’s Sitaram Yechury, CPI’s D Raja, Trinamool Congress leader Dinesh Trivedi, SP’s Ramgopal Yadav, DMK’s Kanimozhi, INLD’s Dushyant Chautala and RJD’s Prem Chand Gupta are expected to participate in the march.
The march is being coordinated by JD-U President Sharad Yadav.
Manmohan Singh’s attending the event is significant as it comes days after the Congress chief led a march from party headquarters to the former Prime Minister’s residence to express solidarity after Singh was summoned in a coal scam case.
Delhi Police on Monday lathicharged and used water canon to disperse the Congress workers, trying to march towards Parliament, as part of their protest against the NDA Government’s Land Acquisition Bill.

Leave a comment