Odisha News Insight

BJP gets Jharkhand, but Arjun Munda loses Polls

BJP-Arjun-MundaThe Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) improved its tally in Jharkhand from 18 in 2009 to 37 in 2014. Along with its ally AJSU (5), it crossed the magic figure of 42 in the 81-member assembly. However, the party received a major setback, as its former Chief Minister Arjun Munda lost the polls from Kharasawan by 11,966 votes.

Arjun Munda, a three-time Chief Minister, polled 60,036 votes. His rival Dashrath Gagrai (JMM) secured 72,002 votes. After losing the polls, Munda said that a ‘Good’ BJP worker will become the Chief Minister of Jharkhand. He expressed happiness over the good performance of the BJP in the polls. Raghubar Das is now the frontrunner to become the Jharkhand CM.

Many top leaders from all parties bit the dust in Jharkhand. Apart from Arjun Munda, former Jharkhand CMs Madhu Koda (Majhgao) and Babulal Marandi lost the polls. JMM leader and incumbent CM Hemant Soren lost from Dumka, but won from Barhait. Babulal Marandi’s JVM won 8 seats, but he lost from both seats (Dhanwar and Giridih). Another senior BJP leader Simon Marandi too lost the polls. All Jharkhand Students Union (AJSU) president Sudesh Mahto lost from Silli.

In Jharkhand, BJP and its ally won 42 seats, while JMM won 19 seats. JVM won 8 seats. Congress, which was the single largest party in 2009 with 25 seats, managed to win just 6 seats. According to latest reports, Babulal Marandi’s JVM may merge with the BJP with its 8 MLAs, which will strengthen the saffron party further. Marandi, who lost from both seats, was a senior BJP leader and credited with being the first Chief Minister of Jharkhand.

Leave a comment