Odisha News Insight

BJP gets Majority in Jharkhand, Congress Decimated

BJP-Arjun-MundaThe Bharatiya Janata Party created history by securing full majority in Jharkhand. People in Jharkhand has given a decisive mandate to ensure that a stable government rules the state for five years. In the 81-member Jharkhand Assembly, BJP is leading in 43 seats, while Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) is leading in 19 seats.

The Congress, which was the single largest party in 2009 with 25 seats, is leading in just 5 seats. The Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (JVM) led by Babulal Marandi, is leading in 9 seats. Arjun Munda will lead the race to become new Chief Minister of Jharkhand once the final results are out.

In 2008 polls, Congress had won 25 seats, while BJP and JMM had won 18 seats each. Jharkhand witnessed three Chief Ministers and President’s Rule thrice in the last five years, which forced the people to give a clear mandate to any single party and BJP was the obvious choice for them. As Arjun Munda had been the CM of Jharkhand thrice, his chances are bright to occupy the top post yet again.

Leave a comment