Odisha News Insight

BJP, PDP win 5 out of 6 Seats in J&K Legislative Council

PDP-BJPFive candidates of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) combine were elected unopposed in the Jammu & Kashmir legislative council election. The results were announced by poll official Muhammad Ramzan late Wednesday. BJP won 2 seats, while the PDP won 3 seats. National Conference won 1 seat.

The elected candidates are BJP’s Chering Dorjay and Sofi Yusuf, while the three PDP candidates who won are Firdous Tak, Yasir Reshi and Inayat Ali. The two parties contested the election jointly.

Voting for six seats in which 10 candidates of the PDP, the BJP and the National Conference are in the fray will take place March 2. The Congress has decided to support National Conference candidates and has hence not fielded any candidate.

The 87-member state legislative assembly forms the electoral college for the legislative council which is the upper house of Jammu & Kashmir’s bicameral legislature.

The PDP has 28, the BJP 25, the National Conference 15, the Congress 12 and the others have seven candidates in the state legislative assembly. (IANS)

Leave a comment