Odisha News Insight

BJP sweeps Himachal, but CM Candidate loses

ONI Bureau: Call it the irony of destiny or a sabotage, BJP’s CM candidate Prem Kumar Dhumal lost the election from Sujanpur even as the party swept Himachal Pradesh by winning 44 out of 68 seats that went to polls.

The BJP also suffered another jolt, as state unit’s president Satpal Singh Satti lost from Una. As both top leaders lost the polls, the party may find it difficult to get a formidable face to lead the state. Modi-Shah duo may bank on Union Minister JP Nadda, who hails from Himachal Pradesh.

On the contrary, Congress leader and sitting CM Virbhadra Singh won from Arki despite the corruption charges and CBI raids on him. His son Vikramaditya Singh too won from Shimla Rural. Even, former Congress leader Sukh Ram’s son Anil Sharma won the elections from Mandi on a BJP ticket.

While Himachali voters accepted the dynasty politics of Congress, they gave a thumbs down to BJP on this. It can be noted that BJP MP Anurag Thakur is the son of Prem Kumar Dhumal.

Leave a comment