Odisha News Insight

Kiran Bedi loses Polls, AAP wins 67 Seats in Delhi

Kiran Bedi - BJPAs the AAP wave swept Delhi with BJP losing the Opposition Status by winning just 3 out of 70 seats, BJP’s Chief Ministerial candidate Kiran Bedi too lost the polls by around 2,277 votes. Among the top BJP leaders, only Vijender Gupta managed to win Rohini by 5,367 votes. AAP won 67 seats, while BJP won 3 seats. Congress and others drew blank.

Two other BJP leaders, who won in Delhi, are Om Prakash Sharma (Vishawas Nagar) and Jagdish Pradhan (Mustafabad). Prof. Jagdish Mukhi lost the polls in Janakpuri. In Krishna Nagar, Kiran Bedi polled 63,642 votes, while her rival Advocate SK Bagga of Aam Aadmi Party got 65,919 votes.

In Rohini, Vijender Gupta got 59,866 votes. AAP leader CL Gupta got 54,499 votes. In Mustafabad, Jagdish Pradhan got 58,388 votes, while Hasan Ahmed of the Congress secured 52,357 votes. AAP candidate Mohd. Yunus secured 49,791 votes. Division in Muslim votes helped BJP in Mustafabad.

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is third only in Mustafabad. They won 67 and finished second in two seats. Congress finished second only in three seats and third and fourth in 67 seats. Interestingly, BJP almost retained its 2013 vote share, while most of Congress votes went to the AAP, which ensured their landslide victory.

In 2013 Delhi Assembly Polls, BJP had won 33.07%, AAP had won 29.49% and Congress had won 24.55% of the total votes. BJP’s vote share in 2015 is 32%. Congress slumps to 9.8% from 25%. AAP takes all anti-BJP votes to make it 54% for themselves.

In New Delhi, AAP leader Arvind Kejriwal secured 57,213 votes. Nupur Sharma of the BJP polled 25,630 votes. Kiran Walia managed to get just 4,781 votes. In Malaviya Nagar, Somnath Bharti (47,834) beat Nandani Sharma (34,386), while Manish Sisodia (71,664) beat Vinod Kumar Binny (43,311) in Patparganj. In Mangolpuri, Rakhi Birla (59,829) beat Raj Kumar Chauhan (37,200) votes. In Chandni Chowk, Alka Lamba (36,756) beat Suman Gupta of BJP (18,469). In Dwarka, late PM Lal Bahadur Shashtri’s grandson Adarsh Shastri (79,729) defeated BJP’s Pradyumn Rajput (40,363).

In Karawal Nagar, Kapil Mishra got 101,865 votes, while Mohan Singh Bisht (BJP) got 57,434 votes. In Greater Kailash, Saurabh Bhardwaj got 57,589 votes, while Rakesh Kumar Gullaiya secured 43,006 votes. President Pranab Mukherjee’s daughter Sharmistha Mukherjee got just 6,102 votes. In Sadar Bazar, Som Dutt (AAP) got 67,507 votes, followed by Parveen Kumar Jain (BJP) with 33,192 and Akay Maken (Congress) with 16,331 votes.

Leave a comment