Odisha News Insight

MPLADS Funds of 25 Lok Sabha MPs in Bihar untouched

MPs in BiharPatna, May 16 (IANS): Twenty five of the 40 Lok Sabha MPs in Bihar failed to spend even a single paisa from their Local Area Development Scheme (MPLADS) fund in the past one year, an official said on Saturday.

“Of the 25 MPs, who did not utilize a single penny from their MPLADS fund in last one year, 16 are from the BJP and six are from its allies LJP and RLSP. Two RJD and one JD-U MP also failed to spend a single penny during this period,” the official said.

Lok Jantantrik Party (LJP) chief and Union Minister Ram Vilas Paswan, who is the MP from Hajipur, and expelled RJD MP Rajiv Ranjan alias Pappu Yadav, who is the MP from Madhepura, topped the list of MPs who had utilised their MPLADS fund for development work.

Three union ministers viz. Ram Kirpal Yadav, BJP MP from Patliputra, Rajiv Pratap Rudy, BJP MP from Saran and Radha Mohan Singh, BJP MP from Motihari, are among the MPs who failed to spend their MPLADS fund.

Under the scheme, each MP has the choice to suggest to the district collector works to the tune of Rs.5 crore per annum to be taken up in his or her constituency.

Leave a comment