Odisha News Insight

Narayan Rane loses Bandra (E) Bypoll by 19,008 Votes

Narayan-RaneFormer Maharashtra Chief Minister and Congress strongman Narayan Rane lost the assembly bypoll in prestigious Bandra (East), which fell vacant after the demise of Shiv Sena leader Bala Sawant. Bala Sawant’s widow, Trupti Sawant defeated Rane by 19,008 votes. Trupti had the support of BJP. Bandra (East) houses the residence of Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray, ‘Matoshree’.

Trupti Sawant polled 52,711 votes against Narayan Rane who secured 33,703 votes. All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (MIM) candidate Rahbar Khan polled 15,050 votes. The Owaisi brothers had camped in Mumbai for weeks to ensure victory of Khan. In 2014 Assembly Polls, Narayan Rane had lost from Kudal Assembly segment by more than 9,000 votes.

In Tasgaon-Kavathe Mahankal assembly seat, NCP nominee Suman Patil, the widow of NCP stalwart late R R Patil defeated the BJP candidate by over 1.12 lakh votes.

Akali Dal won the Dhuri Bypoll in Punjab with the support of BJP. AAP had pulled out of the contest at the eleventh hour to ensure defeat of Akali Dal candidate Govind Longowal. Congress candidate Mamata Rakesh, wife of late Surendra Rakesh, won the Bhagwanpur (Uttrakhand) bypoll.

Leave a comment