Odisha News Insight

Narrow Win for Congress in Madhya Pradesh Bypolls

ONI Bureau: The Congress Party managed to retain both assembly seats where bypolls were held today, but with very less margin as compared to 2013 polls despite BSP’s absence in both seats.

Congress won Mungaoli Assembly Bypoll by just 2,124 votes. In 2013, Congress had won the seat with 51% vote share. But in 2018, the vote share went down to 48%. On the other hand, BJP which secured just 36% votes in 2013, got 47% votes this time.

Congress won Kolaras Assembly Bypoll by 8,083 votes. In 2013, Congress had 46% vote share, which went up to 49% this time. The BJP, which got just 30% vote share in 2013, secured 45% vote share this time.

BSP, which won over 20,000 votes in both seats in 2013, did not contest the bypolls and extended tacit support to Congress. In both seats, the Congress’ victory margin significantly reduced despite BSP support.

Leave a comment