Odisha News Insight

Raghubar Das to be Next Jharkhand Chief Minister

RSS ideologue and BRaghubar-DasJP MLA from Jamshedpur East, Shri Raghubar Das has been appointed as the next Chief Minister of Jharkhand. He was elected unopposed as the Leader of BJP’s Legislature Party in Jharkhand in the presence of central observers Health Minister JP Nadda and Vinay Sahasrabuddhe.

Raghubar Das will be the first non-tribal Chief Minister of Jharkhand. The BJP had two Chief Ministers Babulal Marandi and Arjun Munda, while JMM had Shibu Soren and Hemant Soren as Jharkhand CMs. Madhu Koda too occupied the CM’s post once. Raghubar Das will take oath on December 29.

BJP’s strong contender for the CM’s post, Arjun Munda lost the assembly polls even though BJP did well. BJP won 37 seats while its alliance partner AJSU won 5 seats. For the first time in the history of Jharkhand, any party of pre-poll alliance won a majority in the 81-member assembly.

Raghubar Das, a former employee with Tata Steel, is the four-time BJP MLA from Jamshedpur East since 1995 and also the Urban Development Minister during the NDA government in the state. He has declared assets worth Rs 21 lakh in his poll affidavit.

Leave a comment