Odisha News Insight

Samajwadi Party conquers Yogi Bastion in Uttar Pradesh

ONI Bureau: The Uttar Pradesh (UP) bypoll results on Wednesday came as a shock for BJP and its UP CM Yogi Adityanath as the party lost both the Phulpur and Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seats.

Samajwadi Party Candidate Praveen Kumar Nishad have won Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seats by 21,881 votes whereas Samajwadi Party’s Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel have won Phulpur Lok Sabha seat by 59,613 votes respectively.

The bypoll saw a triangular contest involving BJP, Samajwadi Party and the Congress. However, Congress candidates from Phulpur and Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seats have lost their deposits.

Worth mentioning, Yogi Adityanath held this seat since 1998-99. Earlier, Mahant Abedyanath (BJP) held this seat from 1989 till 1998. BJP lost the seat after 29 years. Yogi Adityanath has said that his party accepted the “verdict of the people” and congratulated the winning candidates.

As per report, the voter turnout was 47.45% in Gorakhpur and 37.39% in Phulpur in Sunday’s polling.

Meantime in Bihar bypoll, the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) have won the Jehanabad & Araria Lok Sabha bypoll seats.

RJD’s Uday Yadav have defeated the JD(U) candidate by over 35,000 votes in Jehanabad by-Poll whereas RJD’s Sarfaraz Alam have won Araria by poll by over 60,000 votes. Meanwhile, BJP’s Rinky Rani Pandey has won the Bhabhua Assembly seat in Bihar.


Leave a comment