Odisha News Insight

Trinamool wins, but BJP rises to 2nd Spot in West Bengal

BJPAs expected, Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress retained the Bongaon Lok Sabha seat with Mamatabala Thakur defeating her nearest rival Subrata Thakur of the BJP by over one lakh votes. In Krishnaganj Assembly seat, Trinamool candidate Satyajit Biswas won by a margin of over 37,000 votes against his closest rival Manabendra Roy of the BJP.

Although Mamata Banerjee proved her power in West Bengal yet again, BJP surprised all by emerging as the No. 2 party, by pushing the Left and Congress to 3rd and 4th positions respectively. The BJP retained the Panaji seat for the sixth time. BJP’s Sidharth Kunkolienkar won the Panaji bypoll, defeating his nearest rival from the Congress Party by 5,368 votes.

The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) has retained the Tirupati assembly seat in Andhra Pradesh. M. Suguna of the ruling party won the by-election, defeating her nearest rival R. Sreedevi of the Congress party by over 1.16 lakh votes.

BJP candidate Tushar Rathod Won Mukhed (Maharashtra) assembly seat by 54,000 votes. The Congress Party is ahead in Liromoba (Arunachal Pradesh).

In Tamil Nadu, S.Valarmathi has taken a decisive lead over DMK’s N. Anand in Srirangam Assembly seat. She is leading by over 45,000 votes. The seat fell vacant after former Tamil Nadu CM Jayalalithaa had to forgo her seat following conviction and sentencing in graft case. Jayalalithaa won from Srirangam constituency in 2011 defeating her DMK rival N. Anand by a margin of 41,848 votes.

Leave a comment