Odisha News Insight

149 Students get OP Jindal Scholarship

OP Jindal ScholarshipAngul, Dec 28: The CSR arm of Jindal Steel & Power Ltd, JSPL Foundation on December 25 awarded OP Jindal Scholarship 2015 to 149 meritorious students from various high schools of Chhendipada and Banarpal Blocks of Angul District. Total 95 Students were awarded OP Jindal Scholarship, whereas 54 students were given merit cum means scholarship.

Chief Patron of the programme Mr. DK Saraogi (Executive Director and Location Head of JSPL) presented the scholarship certificate and cheque to the selected students at Jindal Nagar Township in presence of Mr. Sabyasachi Bandyopadhyay (CTO & ED, JSPL), Mr. CD Mathew (VP-HR&ES), Mr. SK Sharma (AVP & Head – CSR), Mr. NK Pradhan (Principal, DAV Savitri Jindal High School), Mr.ChhandaCharan Das (Principal, OP Jindal School), Swami SatyabinduMaharaj and Puspalata Satapathy (HoD-CSR).

Out of these 95 students, 90 students, from 48 high schools in Angul district, were awarded for their performance in high school certificate examination – 2015 and they will be given Rs. 12000/- as scholarship amount per year for enabling them to pursue their higher secondary studies. Five Scholars were selected on the basis of their performance in JEE – 2015 examination. These students will be given Rs. 24000/- per year for their engineering studies. Vindicating the basic objective of the Programme to encourage rural talents on merit cum means basis in respect of both the types of scholarship, the  Students with family  annual income below Rs. One lakh only were considered. The scholarship for the selected students will be renewed next year on the basis of their academic performance the current academic year. Merit – cum – Means Scholarships were given to economically poor and meritorious 54 students from OP Jindal School & DAV Savitri Jindal High School.

Mr. Saraogi in his address said, “Our Founder, the great visionary Shri OP Jindal had focused on education as the prime mover of the Social development. He has established several educational institutions and had encouraged students for skill and higher education.  This Scholarship, which is named after him, will help these meritorious students to pursue their dream of higher education”.  Mr. Bandyopadhyay advised the students to study hard and contribute to the nation building activities.

OP Jindal scholarships are being awarded to the Students since 2013 on the basis of academic performance and economic status of the family, for which eligibility criteria is being announced by JSPL Foundation, in coordination with the District  Education Office.  Since 2013, JSPL Foundation has supported total 266 students from different schools in Chhendipada and Banarpal Block of Angul District.

Mr. Manoj Jha, Mr. Nilendu Chatterjee, Mr. Ashutosh Mishra, Mr. Satya Ranjan Mishra, Ms. Ritamoni Borah, Mr. Tapas Mohanty and other members of the CSR team coordinated the programme under the leadership of Mrs.Puspalata Satpathy, HoD (CSR).

Leave a comment