Odisha News Insight

350 Participate in Wipro Digital’s ‘Code the Future’ Hackathon

Wipro DigitalWipro Digital, the digital business unit of Wipro Ltd. (NYSE:WIT), a leading global information technology, consulting and business process services company, today announced the winners of the twelve-hour hackathon – ‘Code the Future’, held on July 11 in Bangalore. Over 350 individuals participated in the event, in teams of four each. The youngest competitors were 12 year-olds.

Participants were tasked to create an innovative mobile or web application that can offer a superior user experience when integrated with digital solutions that are being currently used in industry sectors such as e-commerce, healthcare, transportation, logistics and others.

The apps were judged based on their business potential, user experience, technical complexity and their alignment with the brief. The apps were evaluated by a panel of judges, which included members of Wipro leadership team as well as industry veterans from other organizations. Each team was allowed ten minutes to present their applications and were interviewed by the jury. The winning teams were rewarded with tablets, mobile phones, Kindles or quadcopters.

Rajan Kohli, Global Head – Wipro Digital said, “Hackathons are a great way to develop multi-faceted talent – thinkers, doers, designers, engineers. We have had an overwhelming response to ‘Code the future’ and are happy to have had a chance to engage with quality talent. We are delighted by the array of remarkable applications created by the participants.”

The top prize winning application was created by Team Zense, constituted by students of Masters in technology from a leading university in Bangalore – Vikas Yadav, Anubhav Bhardwaj, Akshay Jindal and Samyak Upadhyay. The application created by Team Zense uses Near Field Communication technology to enhance the transit experience of busand railpassengers by creating digital passes that can be topped up anywhere. The data can be collected and analyzed to ensure continuous improvement in customer experience.

At the second position was Team Hexagonal Loop – a team of IT professionals: Gaurav Keshre, Honey Jain, Sugata Mukherjee and Vinay Aggarwal. Aimed at optimizing the limited number of cabs available in a city, their application allows potential passengers to send a cab-sharing request to a common destination.

Team Smart Sprinklers comprising of IT professionals – Rafi Mohammed, Mazhar Ali Khan, Vivek Jaiswal and George Mathew – was at the third position. Their application was a sprinkler system for farmers, wherein the system identifies when the crops need to be watered based on weather conditions, humidity in the air, and crop water requirement.

Leave a comment