Odisha News Insight

ISTD organizes National Convention 2015 in Odisha

ISTD organises National Convention 2015 First Time in OdishaIndian Society for Training and Development (ISTD), Bhubaneswar chapter has organised the 44th ISTD National Convention-2015 from 19th -21st February 2015 at Power Training Centre (PTC), OPTCL, Chandaka, Bhubaneswar. This is for the first time a National Convention of ISTD has been hosted in Odisha. The theme of the convention was ‘Human Development for Business Excellence’. The convention was spread over three days and more than 500 delegates from across the country comprising academicians,HR professionals,training consultant,industry leaders, research scholars and students have participated in the convention.

The preconvention workshop on ‘Training The Trainers’ Programme was held on 19th February 2015 and was inaugurated by Dr. S K Tamotia and ShriY K Upadhayay, National President, ISTD distributed certificates. The inaugural function of the convention in the evening of 19th February 2015 Honourable Member of Parliament Sri Baijayant Jay’ Panda was the chief guest of the occasion. Shri Baijayant Jay Panda mentioned that our demographic dividend may turn out to be a demographic turmoil unless we equip our manpower with adequate skills.

Dr.Omkar Nath Mohanty, Ex-Vice Chancellor, BPUT delivered a very inspiring key note address stressing on the need for managing and harnessing technology, knowledge and talent for the growth of developing economy like India. Prof.Vinayshil Gautam, Mentor, ISTD, Diploma Board emphasized on management of self, maintaining rhythm in every sphere of work and bringing in value addition.

ISTD Bhubaneswar Chapter also felicitated three accomplished personalities namely Shri Anshuman Das, CMD NALCO Shri P.C. Panigrahi, Director – Personnel, MCL and Prof.Dr. P.K. Mohanty. A commemorative souvenir and a referred research Journal was also released by the Chief Guest.

The second day was power packed with four plenary sessions and four Chairpersons Prof. J Philip,Director- Xavier Institute of Management & Entrepreneurship (XIME) Bangalore, Prof VinayshilGautam, Mentor, ISTD,Dr.Uddesh Kohli, Secretary General, IFTDO, Dr.Supriya Pattnayak, Odisha Head, DFID and 15 speakers gave their valuable deliberation on the sub themes “Changing Business Landscape and The Emerging Role of HR for value proposition”, “Learning and Development initiatives for Managing Talent”, “Skill Development need for Customer Relationship Executives, Health Care Executives & Faculty Members” and “Training Requirements for Women Leaders and Entrepreneurs”.

The National Council meeting was also held where two esteemed senior most past presidents of ISTD, DR. B. R. Singh and Dr.Vinayashil Gautam were presented Emeritus Fellow of ISTD. After the business transactions on both days, a reverberating cultural extravaganza by the troupe of the legendary Odissi exponent Mrs. Aruna Mohanty

Two plenary sessions were held on the third day with the sub theme “Next Generation Leadership Challenges: The CEOPerspectives” and “Innovation & Entrepreneurship: The Role of Training”. The sessions were chaired by Dr.Kailash Chandra Mishra, Vice Chancellor & Dean SRI SRI University Cuttack and Mr.Dillip Satapathy, Bureau Chief, Business Standard and seven Speakers from various disciplines presented their talk.

The convention concluded with a valedictory program on 21st Feb 2015 at 2:30 pm. Honourable Justice ShriAnanga Kumar Patnaik, Former Justice, Supreme Court of India was the esteemed Chief Guest and Sri Animesh Nandan Sahay, Chairman-cum-Managing Director, Mahanadi Coalfield Ltd.,Dr. Ashok Mohapatra, Director, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Bhubaneswar,ShriYogesh Kumar Upadhyay, National President ISTD and Dr. S.K. Tamotia, Dean- cum-Director General and Vice Chairman, Bharatiya Vidya Bhawan, Bhubaneswar were the guests of honour.

Dr.SujataMangaraj, Convener, 44th ISTD National Convention and Chairperson, Bhubaneswar Chapter made an elaborate summing up of the three days proceedings and hoped that the convention has been successful in driving the key message of ISTD to the Society.

Dr. S.K. Tamotia mentioned about the new change in the business and that markets are no more monolithic rather it has shifted to micro segmentation, multiple competencies and short product cycles. Dr. Ashok Mohapatra in his candid deliberation advised to have confidence in self and God and do hard work to shape one’s destiny.

Shri Animesh Nandan Sahay while narrating his long standing experience in Coal India and Mahanadi Coal Field mentioned that there are large skillset gaps in unskilled, semiskilled and skilled personnel in the industry for which the company has embarked upon massive training interventions for imparting new skills and upgrading existing skills of their employees. He sought the collaboration of ISTD in fulfilling their Training needs.

Honourable Justice Shri Ananga Kumar Patnaik highlighted the extensive need for skill development in all fields of the society including the judiciary. He gave the example of success story of judiciary mediation of Odisha after improvement in their skill level. As per the usual practise judges go by their experience and past exposure and if proper training is given to them they can be more effective in discharging their duties and responsibilities

During this valediction ceremony, Sri Animesh Nandan Sahay, Chairman-cum-Managing Director, Mahanadi Coalfield Ltd. was felicitated with ISTD Lifetime Achievement Award and Mr.Santanu Rath, Director (HRD),OPTCL Bhubaneswar was felicitated with ISTD Leadership Excellence Award. The distinction of the ISTD fellowship was bestowed upon Mr.Arvind Prahalad Khode, Baroda Chapter and Mr. G Vargha Swamy of Bangalore Chapter.

The Best Member Distinguished Services Award 2013-2014 was given to Dr.(Mrs) Padma Iyer, Lucknow Chapter and the best Small Chapter 2013-14 was given to Kochi Chapter.The Young Talent Awards instituted by ISTD Bhubaneswar Chapter was also announced. Beside this, a number of national awards were also given in different categories by the chief guest. Finally the vote of thanks was given by Mr. Ajay Kumar Das, Hon.Secretary, ISTD Bhubaneswar Chapter and DGM(HRD), OPTCL.

Leave a comment