Odisha News Insight

NISER 4th Graduation Ceremony held in Jatni, Bhubaneswar

Jatni/Bhubaneswar, June 7: The 4th Graduation Ceremony of National Institute of Science Education & Research, Bhubaneswar, was held here in its new sprawling campus here at Jatni in a solemn atmosphere with the recipients of the Degrees vowing to put their knowledge in the service of the nation .The fourth batch of students of MSc Integrated programme and the 2nd batch of Doctoral students were awarded the degrees at the Graduate Ceremony ,today on 6TH June 2015.

The Chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission Dr. Ratan Kumar Sinha, an internationally acclaimed Nuclear Reactor Technolgist & Secretary of Department of Atomic Energy had delivered the Convocation Address. Chief Secretary of Odisha ,Gokul Chandra Pati was the Guest of Honour on the occasion while Padma Bhushan Prof. S.K.Joshi presided over the ceremony.

Chairman of the Academic Council and Director of NISER Prof. V Chandrasekhar had presented the degrees to all most all the graduating students and 3 doctoral candidates. Like their glorious predecessors, who have made their alma-mater resplendent, this year the graduating students have done remarkably well by scaling dizzy heights of glory and are set to carry forward this tradition of excellence. They are almost spilled over the world to pursue doctoral programmes at reputed universities across the globe such as ENP-Paris, Texas-Austin, Michigan,Wisconsin-Madison,Maryland, Stony Brook, Lousiana,Houston,Toulouse,Connecticut, Cologne, South Dakote, IITs,TIFR,NIL, Texas A&M, Ohiuo, Texas Tech, Washington, California, Manchester, Cambridge, Colorado, South Carolina, Florida Clark, Utah, Minnesota, Arizona State Arozona State, Brandeis, Texas-Arlington etc etc. This emerging scenario reinforces the truth that NISER is committed to quality education of global standard. This is to state here once again that 59 students from all disciplines have graduated this year.

K U Amudhan of the School of Mathematical Sciences was awarded the most coveted GOLD Medal for outstanding overall performances in Mathematics and also Prof. Tribikram Pati Memorial Award for outstanding performance in Mathematics. Jyotisman Sahoo from the School of Physical Sciences, Adyasha Panigrahi from the School of Chemical Sciences and Anurag Priyadarshi from the school of Biological Sciences received the silver medals for best academic performance in their respective schools. In his convocation address Dr. Ratan kumar Sinha,louded the quality education of NISER and exhorted the students to carry research which is the back bone of science education. Prof.

Joshi hoped that the new campus will further strengthen the academic atmosphere of the institute, while Director of the academy Prof. V Chandrasekhar maintained that the knowledge gained by the students is the wealth of the nation which should be applied for its development. Mr. G.C.Pati reiterated Odisha Governments continued support and co-operation for this rare institute and thanked the Atomic Energy Department for allowing it to be opened here at Bhubaneswar. The Registrar of the University Dr. Abhay Nayak had earlier assiduously organized the event systematically under the supervision of the Director of the institute which commenced with academic procession and ended after the body of academia left the pulpit.

Leave a comment