Odisha News Insight

11 New Ministers take Oath in Uttar Pradesh

Uttar Pradesh-GovernorLucknow, Oct 31: Eleven new ministers took oath in Uttar Pradesh on Saturday after Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav on Thursday sacked eight cabinet ministers and withdrew portfolios of nine ministers in a major shake-up.

The ministers were sworn-in by Governor Ram Naik on Saturday at the Raj Bhawan. Nine of those sworn-in were elevated from their previous positions.

The new cabinet ministers are Arvind Singh, Kamal Akhtar, Vinod Kumar Singh alias Pandit Singh, Saheb Singh Saini and Balwant Singh Ramoowalia, who’s inclusion created a flutter as he is neither a member of any House nor is a resident of Uttar Pradesh.

Among others who were sworn-in are Shailendra alias Lalai Yadav, Sudhir Kumar Rawat, Pawan Pandey and Omkar Singh Yadav. Hemraj Verma could not be sworn-in as a minister of state as he could not reach the venue on time. He will be sworn later in the day.

Samajwadi Party (SP) chief Mulayam Singh Yadav and senior ministers of the government and members of the ruling party were present at the function.

Leave a comment