Odisha News Insight

21 Journalists attacked in West Bengal during Civic Polls

mamata banerjee west bengalAt least 21 journalists, including several photo journalists, were attacked during the civic polls in West Bengal. Those attacked by TMC cadres, included Journalists Esha Roy and Arshad Ali and photojournalist Partha Paul of The Sunday Express, Sanjay Chatterjee of The Telegraph, journalist Arka Dey and cameraperson Dipankar Jana of News Time, reporter Aritrik Bhattacharya and cameraperson Partha Sarathi Chakraborty of ABP Ananda.

Mayukh Thakur Chakraborty and Prakash Sinha — and their cameraperson Ajay Das of ABP Ananda, were also manhandled. Atirath Ghosh and Suraj Prasad of ETV were roughed up at Bidhanangar. Another journalist of the same channel, Tuhin Das Chandra, was beaten up at Bally.

Three journalists of 24 Ghanta — Mintu Basak, Debararti Ghosh and Bikram Das — were assaulted by the goons involved in alleged booth capturing. Sharmin Begum of Kolkata TV and her cameraman Tanmoy Dutta Biswas were heckled. Souvik Dey, a reporter with Anandbazar Patrika, was also beaten up.

Leave a comment