Odisha News Insight

3 Top Writers return Sahitya Akademi Awards, slam PM Modi

Sahitya-Akademi-AwardAt least three top writers in India have returned the Sahitya Akademi Awards, questioning PM Modi’s silence over various issues, including Dadri lynching, murder of Govind Pansare and Kalburgi and other communal unrest and cultural attacks.

After Writer Nayantara Sahgal (88), Poet Ashok Vajpeyi (74) has returned the Sahitya Akademi Award. Earlier, Hindi Writer Uday Prakash (63) had also returned the award.

Ashok Vajpeyi has called all writers and poets to join hands and return the awards and protest against PM Narendra Modi. Nayantara had also slammed Modi and called for a revolution.

Nayantara received the Sahitya Akademi Award in 1986. Vajpeyi received it in 1994. Uday Prakash had received the award in 2010.

Leave a comment