Odisha News Insight

Left Bastion breached, ABVP wins a JNU Post after 15 Years

JNU-ABVP1After making a clean sweep in DUSU (Delhi University Student Union) polls yesterday, the BJP-RSS backed ABVP breached the Left Bastion of Jawaharlal Nehru University (JNU) after a long gap of 15 years. ABVP bagged the Joint Secretary’s post in JNU polls. Supreme Court Advocate Sandeep Mahapatra was the last ABVP candidate to win a JNU post. He was elected President in 2000.

ABVP’s Saurabh Sharma won the post of Joint Secretary. He secured 1154 votes, while his nearest rival AISA candidate Hamid Raza got 1126 votes. ABVP gained in all four seats and finished second in two seats (Vice President and Secretary), while it finished third in President’s post.

Kanhaiya Kumar of All India Student Federation (AISF) won the President’s post, while AISA’s Shehla Rashid Shora, a Kashmiri woman, won the Vice President’s post. Rama Naga of AISA was elected General Secretary.

Leave a comment