Odisha News Insight

Nation remembers Martyrs of 2001 Parliament Attack

martyrs-of-the-parliament-attackThe nation today paid homage to the nine martyrs who sacrificed their lives while defending Parliament House from dastardly terror attack on this day in 2001.

Notably, on 13 December, 2001, five heavily-armed terrorists, allegedly belonging to terror groups Lashkar-e-Taiba and Jaish-e-Mohammed opened fire in the Parliament complex in New Delhi.

The attack led to the deaths of six Delhi Police personnel, two Parliament Security Service personnel and a gardener.

The Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Vice President M. Hamid Ansari, Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and other parliamentarians today paid tributes to those killed in the 2001 terror attack on Parliament.

The parliamentarians observed silence in the honour of the martyrs. A blood donation camp was also organised at the Parliament complex in this regard.

Leave a comment