Odisha News Insight

Polling begins for 51 Seats in 5th Phase of Assembly Elections in UP

UP pollsIn the fifth phase of assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh (UP), voting is taking place today for 51 constituencies spread over 12 districts. These districts are Ambedkarnagar, Bahraich, Shravasti, Amethi, Sultanpur, Faizabad, Barabanki, Balrampur, Gonda, Basti, Siddharthnagar and Sant Kabir Nagar. Polling, which started at 7 AM, will end at 5 PM.

A total of 607 candidates including 40 women are in the fray. Ruling Samajwadi Party is contesting from 43 seats and its ally Congress 14 seats, whereas, BJP is contesting 50 seats as it has left one seat for its ally Apna Dal. BSP has fielded its candidates at 51 seats.

Elaborate security arrangements have been made to ensure free and fair polls. Indo-Nepal, inter district and inter-state borders have been sealed. Central forces also conducted flag march in sensitive areas yesterday to instill confidence among voters.

Around 27 percent of voters have turned out to exercise their franchise till 11 AM.

Leave a comment