Odisha News Insight

Nobel Prize for Physics goes to Scientists from US, Canada

ONI Bureau:  Arthur Ashkin and Gerard Mourou from the US and Donna Strickland from Canada were awarded Nobel Prize in Physics 2018 on Tuesday “for groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics”.

“The Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences has decided to award the Nobe lPrize in Physics 2018 for groundbreaking inventions in the field of laser physics with one half to Arthur Ashkin and the other half jointly to Gerard Mourou and Donna Strickland,” the The Nobel Prize award-giving body said in a tweet on Tuesday.

While, Ashkin developed “optical tweezers” that can grab tiny particles such as viruses without damaging them,Strickland and Mourou helped develop short and intense laser pulses that have broad industrial and medical applications.

The three scientists have been awarded for advances in laser physics.

Leave a comment