Odisha News Insight

4 more Districts in Odisha declared Drought-Hit, Number rises to 16

Odisha Revenue Minister Bijayshree RoutrayBhubaneswar, Oct 15: Odisha Revenue Minister Bijayshree Routray has announced the inclusion of four more districts into the drought-hit areas of the state. The number of drought-hit districts has now gone up to 16. In total, 123 blocks are affected by drought.

The new districts added to the list, include Balangir, Jharsuguda, Nuapada and Bargarh. Earlier, 12 districts – Balasore, Boudh, Jajpur, Kalahandi, Kandhamal, Keonjhar, Mayurbhanj (18), Nayagarh, Nabarangpur, Puri, Subarnapur, Khordha, Bolangir, Nuapada, Jharsuguda, and Bargarh, were declared as drought-hit.

These 123 blocks in 16 districts, are facing drought-like situation and suffered crop loss of 33 per cent or more. They will be covered under the Rs 1,000 crore special package announced by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik yesterday.

“Agriculture input subsidy will be provided to the small and marginal farmers who have sustained crop loss of 33 percent and above at Rs.6,800 per hectare of land in rainfed/non-irrigated areas and Rs.13,500 per hectare of land in areas under assured irrigation,” Patnaik said. He said that agriculture input subsidy will also be provided to farmers other than small and marginal farmers at the same rates subject to a ceiling of two hectare per farmer.

“For perennial crops the assistance shall be provided at Rs.18,000 per hectare. The assistance shall be provided to the actual cultivators,” the chief minister said. He also announced that Rs.1,000 crore will be spent to mitigate the drought situation in the state. Farmers affected by drought in the Kharif season will be provided fresh finance for Rabi cultivation during the current Rabi season and this could be to the tune of Rs.4,500 crore, he added. Stating that the government is committed to protect the interests of farmers, he said.

Leave a comment