Odisha News Insight

72% Voter Turnout recorded in ULB Polls in Odisha

EVM TamperingPolling has been by-and-large peaceful in all 8 Urban Local Bodies (ULBs) in Odisha that went to polls today. The voter turnout was recorded at 72%. Counting will be held tomorrow. Results are expected to be declared by noon.

The newly constituted ULBs that went to polls, included Sunabeda, Paradeep, Belpahar, Municipalities and Dharamgarh, Balimela, Dasapalla, Redhakhol and Tusura NACs. Polling in Ranapur has been deferred.

Dharmagarh NAC recorded the highest polling at 80 percent. Paradip Municipality recorded the lowest polling at 53 percent. The EVMs sealed the fate of 469 candidates contesting in a total of 129 wards. All EVMs are being stored in strong rooms. Counting will begin at 8 AM tomorrow amidst tight security arrangements.

Leave a comment