Odisha News Insight

Battle of Bijepur: Over 40 BJP Workers join BJD

ONI Bureau: In less than 24 hours after Ashok Panigrahi filed nominations as the BJP candidate for Bijepur bypoll, over party workers, including some known faces joined the BJD today in the presence of CM Naveen Patnaik.

They included BJP’s former Bargarh Krushak Morcha President Koustuv Mani Sahu, Agalpur Mandal President Upendra Kheti, General Secretary Birosen Sahu, BJP Legal Cell Member Sarat Chandra Dash, Kailash Behera, Madhu Behera etc.

Earlier, the BJP had smelled the revolt and suspended 5 of the above leaders, including Agalpur Mandal President Upendra Kheti.

Today’s development is seen as a massive setback for the BJP, while it would boost BJD’s prospects further in Bijepur.