Odisha News Insight

Bhartruhari Mahatab among 5 chosen for Outstanding Parliamentarian Award

ONI Bureau:  Odisha BJD MP Bhartruhari Mahatab is among the five Members of Parliament (MPs) selected for Outstanding Parliamentarian Awards for 2017 on Monday.

Mahatab was first elected to the Lok Sabha in 1998 from Cuttack constituency and further re-elected in 1999, 2004, 2009 and 2014 from the same constituency. He will receive the honour for his experience, awareness of issues and debating skills.

Likewise, TMC’s Lok Sabha MP Dinesh Trivedi would get the award for 2016, Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad would get it for 2015.

Lok Sabha member Hukumdev Narayan Yadav would get the award for 2014 and former Rajya Sabha member Najma Heptulla for 2013.

So far as many as 18 eminent MPs have received the award.