Odisha News Insight

BJD wins 4 More Zilla Parishads after 5th Phase Polls

BJD-1The ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has added four more Zilla Parishads to its kitty and reached an invincible position in yet another at the end of 5th and final phase pollsing in the state. The party won got full majority in Balasore, Keonjhar, Dhenkanal and Nuapada, taking the tally to 16.

In Kandhamal, BJD won 9 out of 18 Zilla Parishad Zones, followed by Congress (5) and BJP (4). So, might go the BJD’s way, increasing the tally to 17.

The Congress Party is eyeing Rayagada and Gajapati with the help of others. In Rayagada, party has won 11 out of 22 Zones and expects to add more when final results are announces on Feb 25. BJP-Congress tie up is likely in Nabarangpur and Sundargarh at local level.

Zilla Parishads at Odisha:

BJD (16) – Angul, Balasore, Bhadrak, Boudh, Nuapada, Cuttack, Jajpur, Jagatsinghpur, Dhenkanal, Ganjam, Keonjhar, Puri, Kendrapara, Khordha, Koraput, Nayagarh.

BJP (8) – Bargarh, Bolangir, Kalahandi, Sambalpur, Mayurbhanj, Deogarh, Subarnapur, Malkangiri.

Congress (1) – Jharsuguda.

Leave a comment