Odisha News Insight

BJD wins Municipal Ward Bypolls in Angul, Paradip, Pattamundai

ONI Bureau: The ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has received a major boost ahead of the Bijepur assembly bypoll, as the party won bypolls in Municipal wards of Angul, Paradip and Pattamundai.

In Paradip Municipality’s Ward No. 6, BJD candidate Rashmita Das defeated her BJP rival Gayatri Nayak by 58 votes. Former Minister Dr. Damodar Rout’s son Sambit Rout was very much active in the bypoll. The post fell vacant following the demise of Manjulata Jena in May 2017.

In Pattamundai Municipality’s Ward No. 17, BJD candidate Ranjit Mallick defeated his nearest Congress rival by 92 votes. BJP finished a distant third here.

In Angul Municipality’s Ward No. 10, BJD candidate Ajit Pradhan defeated the BJP candidate by 185 votes. Congress finished third here.

Leave a comment