Odisha News Insight

BJP, Congress reject Odisha Legislative Council Committee

Basant-PandaThe Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has raised questions over the formation of Legislative Council Committee to review the functioning of such councils in Maharashtra and Karnakata. Leader of BJP in Odisha Assembly, Basant Panda rejected the committee, saying his party won’t be part of it.

He accused the BJD Government of taking unilateral decision without consulting the opposition parties. “It should be the Speaker, who should form the committee, not the Parliamentary Affairs Minister. We seek an all-party meeting to discuss the issue and modalities attached to it,” he categorically said.

The Congress Party too followed suit and rejected the committee, saying they want proper discussion before any such decision is taken. The party’s lone member won’t be part of the proposed committee.

The Odisha Government had formed a five-member committee to study the formation and functioning of the proposed Legislative Council in Odisha. Nrusingha Sahoo (BJD-Parjanga), Pramilla Mallick (BJD-Binjharpur), Manohar Randhari (BJD-Nabarangpur), Bhujbal Majhi (Congress-Dabugam) and Nitesh Gangdeb (BJP-Deogarh) were named as the five members in the committee.

Leave a comment