Odisha News Insight

Commissionerate Police Marks 7th Raising Day

Commissionerate PoliceThe Commissionerate Police, Bhubaneswar-Cuttack observed its 7th Raising Day at 7th Bn. Ground, Bhubnaneswar on Thursday. Naveen Patnaik,  Hon’ble Chief Minister Odisha graced the function as the  chief guest. Sanjeev Marik, IPS, DGP, Odisha, C.J. Venugopal, IAS, the Principal Secy., to the Government of Odisha, Home Department, many senior and retired police officers and distinguished personalities of other fields also attended the function. On this occasion the chief guest received the salute of the parade contingents. He inaugurated the souvenir “Sankalp” and Telephone Directory of the Commissionerate and launched Commissionerate Mobile Application named “BBSR-CTC Police”.

Dr. Rajendra Prasad Sharma, IPS Commissioner of Police, Bhubaneswar-Cuttack in his speech narrated the performances of Commissionerate Police during the year 2014 and highlighted about the steps taken for better prevention and detection of organized crime and special operations undertaken against illegal fire-arms, sex racketeers and habitual offenders and the achievement in all the fronts was all time record. Highest numbers of violators were detected under Odisha Urban Police Act and record number of NBWs were executed. Commissionerate Police undertook many innovative measures to enhance safety and security of women. Public awareness films on women’s security, “Pink Auto” project for travel.

Commissionerate Police“Maadhyam” Women Support Centre in Bhubaneswar and Cuttack and self defense training for girls students and working women are some of those steps. The Commissioner of Police also emphasized the steps taken for improving Police Behaviour, Attitude and Response by imparting training to more than 2000 police officers during the year.
The DGP, Odisha in his speech appreciated the performance of the Commissionerate Police and assured to further improve quality of Policing and Police behaviour to general public.
Hon’ble Chief Minister, in his speech expressed that massive expansion and growth in population, rapid urbanization, exponential number of vehicles and massive technological advancement has made the police functioning more sensitive and challenging. He stated that the Commisionerate Police is functioning well so as to achieve the aims and objectives for which it was established and opined that ‘AMA POLICE’ project started by the government is running effectively under two police stations in the Commissionerate. He praised the efforts of the Commissionerate Police to establish Community friendly policing. The Chief Guest awarded following officers and civilians for their outstanding performances during the year 2014.

  1. Best Territorial ACP – Trinath Mishra, OPS- Cuttack UPD
  2. Best ACP (Armed) – Prafula Kumar Singh, OAPS-OSAP 7th Bn, Bhubaneswar
  3. Best IIC – Aseem Kumar Panda, Inspr. BBSR UPD
  4. Best IIC – Rasmi Ranjan Mohapatra, Inspr, Cuttack UPD
  5. Best Investigator- Anup Kumar Kanungo, Inspr. Special Squad
  6. Best Pink Auto Driver – Druyodhan Sahani, BBSR UPD
  7. Smt. Runu Behera – Witness of Triple Murder of Khandagiri PS Area.
  8. Chanan Paikray – Journalist Bhubaneswar.
  9. Bibhuti Bhusan Dash – Journalist Cuttack.
Leave a comment