Odisha News Insight

Development of Coal Blocks in Odisha put to Fast Track

coal blocksBhubaneswar, 18th June: The development of the Coal Blocks in Odisha has been expedited through timely action of the administrative machinery and the lessees. This has been reviewed by Chief Secretary Sri Gokul Chandra Pati and Union Secretary, Coal, Govt. of India Sri Anil Swarup in a high level meeting held in Secretariat conference hall today.

Replying to the media after the meeting, Union Secretary Sri Swarup said that the discussions with the State administration have been very positive and fruitful. The administration has expeditiously carried forward the projects. Chief Secretary Sri Pati has decided timeline for accomplishment of different tasks relating to resettlement, rehabilitation and development of the coal blocks. Sri Swarup particularly mentioned about the rapid progress of Jharsuguda-Barpalli Railway line which is one of the three principal railway lines in India being constructed primarily for evacuation of coal from the mining area.

In the review, Chief Secretary Sri Pati directed the respective district administrations to strongly deal with anti-social and habitual law breakers who create obstacles and often stop the ongoing works under the plea of this or that demand. Chief Secretary also directed the district administration to take up the genuine demands of the people and address those proactively in time bound manner.

The meeting reviewed 11 projects including Jagannath OCP, Bharatpur OCP, Kulda OCP, Siarmal OCP, Bhubaneswari OCP, Lingaraj OCP, Balaram OCP, Hingula OCP, Kaniha OCP, Ananta OCP and Talabira-1 Cola Block. Mainly the issues relating to handing over of land, Stage-II forest clearance, widening of roads, forest diversification proposal, resettlement of project affected farmers, development of resettlement sites figured in the discussion.

The Development Commissioner Sri U.N. Behera, Principal Secretary Steel & Mines, Sri Raj Kumar Sharma, Principal Secretary, Revenue & DM Deptt. Dr. Mona Sharma, Secretary Woks Sri N. K. Pradhan, CMD GRIDCO Sri Hemant Sharma and Collector Angul Sri Sachin Ramchanda Yadhav along with senior officers from MCL, OMC and the respective departments participated in the discussions.

Leave a comment