Odisha News Insight

Haladhar Das to lead Banajaga Yatra

Nabakalebara, 2015Senior servitor of Puri Jagannath temple Haladhar Das Mohapatra will lead a team of 96 members for the Banajaga Yatra, the first chapter of the Nabakalebara festival, 2015.

It was decided in a meeting of the Shri Jagannath Temple Administration (SJTA) under the chairmanship of Puri Gajapati Maharaj Divyasingha Dev. The meeting was also attended by temple administrator Suresh Mohapatra and other officials.

Mohapatra informed that there would be four Badagrahi servitors, 14 ritualistic Brahmins, four Biswkarma servitors and vidyapati in the 96-member team

Besides, Deulakarana, Tadhaukarana, Lenka servitors and other officials of the temple will accompany the team.
The Banajaga team will leave for Mangala temple at Kakatpur on March 29 in search of Daru (log) for the making of the new images of the Lords for the ensuing Nabakalebara Rath Yatra scheduled on June 18.

Leave a comment