Odisha News Insight

Indian Journalists Union 8th Plenary Session held in Bhubaneswar

Odisha Journalists UnionBhubaneswar, May 29: The 8th Plenary Session of Indian Journalists Union (IJU) was organized under aegis of Odisha Journalists Union (OJU) at KIIT Campus in Bhubaneswar. The two-day session was concluded today. The Governor of Odisha, S C Jamir graced the occasion as chief guest on the first day of the conventions. Speaking on the occasion, Jamir said that journalists are the real heroes of the society. They have been facing many obstacles in their life to bring issues to limelight and dedicate their life serving the society.

I&PR Minister, Atanu Sabyasachi Nayak inaugurated the 8th Plenary Session of IJU. Speaking on the occasion, minister said that Odisha government is keen to guard the interest of journalists in the state. He added that state government has been considering health insurance for journalists and working in this direction.

National Secretary of IJU, S N Sinha presided over the two-day session. State President of Odisha Journalists Union Prabhat Dash was elected as National Secretary of Indian Journalists Union. On the second day, the journalists highlighted the problems being faced by journalists in Odisha and focused on the need for formation of wage boards in all the states. On the occasion, founder of KIIT, Dr. Achyuta Samanta was felicitated by the journalists unions.

Other dignitaries were attended the convention were – Pushpendra Singh Deo, Minister, Priyadarshi Mishra, MLA Bhubaneswar (North), Saroj Kumar Samal, MLA, Devulapalli Amar, Secy General Indian Union of Journalists, former secretary K. Srinivas Raddy, Press Council of India Member K Amarnath, State President Prabhat Dash, Etv editor Nilambar Rath, Captain Divya Sabkar Mishra, OPCD Chairman Abhimanyu kusal, Suresh Hibru labour leaders and others.

Leave a comment