Odisha News Insight

Odisha beat Assam by 8 Wickets in Ranji Trophy 2015-16

Basant-Mohanty-OdishaAfter holding Vidarbha and Maharashtra to draw and conceding first innings lead in both matches, Odisha finally registered their first win in Ranji Trophy 2015-16, as they scored an emphatic eight-wicket victory over Group leader Assam, which still leads the points table with two wins over top teams.

Resuming from the overnight score of 137/8, Assam failed to add any run to the total and bowled out at the same score this morning. Jamaluddin Syed Mohammad was stranded at 42*. Suryakant Pradhan took 5 wickets, while Basant Mohanty took 3 wickets.

Chasing a victory target of 142, Odisha lost Natraj Behera (9) and Rajesh Dhupar (21) at 31. But, Anurag Sarangi (29*) and Govind Podder (77*) prevented any further damage and powered the team to an eight-wicket win. The victory was achieved before Tea on Day 3.

Pacer Basant Mohanty was declared ‘Man of the Match’ for taking 8 wickets in the match. Govind Podder, who had scored two consecutive hundreds in the previous matches, proved his mettle again today.


Assam 92 (Amit Verma 20; Basant Mohanty 5/24, Suryakant 2/33, Alok Sahoo 2/18) & 137 (Pallavkumar 21, Tarjinder 27, Jamaluddin 42*; Suryakant 5/27, Basant 3/29).

Odisha 88 (Natraj 23, Anurag Sarangi 27; Arup Das 3/45, Krishna Das 7/21) & 142/2 (Rajesh Dhupar 21, Anurag Sarangi 29*, Govind Podder 77*).

Leave a comment