Odisha News Insight

Odisha CM to launch 2nd Phase NFSA Ration Cards Distribution

CM Naveen Patnaik distributes Digitized Ration CardsBhubaneswar, Oct 29: Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik will launch the distribution of digitised ration cards to the beneficiaries under National Food Security Act (NFSA) from Baripada in Mayurbhanj district on Thursday.

The first phase distribution of cards was launched on October 2 by the Chief Minister in Bhubaneswar covering 14 districts. In the second phase, the ration cards will be distributed to 52,88,681 families in the remaining 16 districts.

The 16 district are Balasore, Bhadrak, Cuttack, Dhenkanal, Ganjam, Kendrapara, Keonjhar, Khurda, Jagatsinghpur, Jajpur, Mayurbhanj, Nabarangpur, Nayagarh, Puri, Rayagada and Sundergarh

The government covered the 14 districts in the first phase were – Angul, Bolangir, Bargarh, Boudh, Deogarh, Gajapati, Kalahandi, Kandhamal, Koraput, Jharsuguda, Malkangiri, Nuapada, Sambalpur, and Sonepur.

A total 3.26 crore people will be benefited with the implementation of the act in the state as they will get food grains at subsidised prices through the digitised ration cards. The act will ensure equitable distribution of food grains to all with focus on tribals, slum dwellers and other vulnerable sections of the society.

The NFSA aims to provide food and nutritional security by ensuring access to adequate quantity of quality food at affordable prices to people to live a life with dignity.