Odisha News Insight

Odisha declares weekend lockdown and other COVID19 rules in the state

Odisha govt announced weekend shutdown for the month of June in 11 districts of the state, anticipating that people might venture out in large numbers as the Centre has eased lockdown rules. The districts in which weekend shutdown will be enforced are Ganjam, Puri, Nayagarh, Cuttack, Jagatsinghpur, Kendrapara, Khurda, Jajpur, Bhadrak and Balasore. Though 90 per cent of cases have been reported from different quarantine centres, this particular decision has been taken to as a precautionary measure to prevent community transmission in these districts.

DGP Abhay said night curfew, though relaxed by the Centre, will be strictly implemented in Odisha from 7 pm to 7 am every day, in accordance with the guidelines framed by the state government.

Additional notice information stated that schools, colleges and coaching institutions in Odisha would remain closed till July 31, simultaneously public worshipping at religious places would not be permitted till June 30 in the state.

Leave a comment