Odisha News Insight

Odisha Govt. begins Process to form Legislative Council

Odisha-OppositionThe Odisha Government is acting fast on its proposal to set up a Legislative Council in the state. It was evident, as the first meeting in this regard was held under the chairmanship of Parliamentary Affairs and Forest & Environment Minister Bikram Keshari Arukh today.

Among others, Parliamentary Affairs Secretary G. Mathivathanan and Odisha Assembly Secretary Amiya Sarangi attended the meeting, which decided to form a five-member legislators’ committee to tour seven other states that have Legislative Councils in order to study their functioning.

As per the provision of the Indian Constitution, the Legislative Council would be formed only after two-third members of the State Assembly back the proposal. That would be much easier for the government, as the ruling BJD has 117 MLAs in the 147-member House.

Less than one-third of the number of members of the State Assembly can be the member of the Legislative Council. However, their number should not be less than 40. The total number of members in the Odisha Legislative Council would be 49.

As per the decision, the total number of members in the Odisha Legislative Council would be 49. They will have a six-year term. Out of the 49 members, one-third of members would be elected by the Municipal Corporations, Municipalities and Zilla Parishads, one-third by the members of the Legislative Assembly and one-twelfth from education sector, while one-sixth from the field of Literature, Science, Art, Cooperation and Social Service would be nominated by the Governor.

Currently, Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra, Telangana and Uttar Pradesh have Legislative Councils. The Union Cabinet has already approved the formation of a Legislative Council in Assam.

Leave a comment