Odisha News Insight

Odisha inks MoU with Railways for Train Connectivity to 7 Districts

railway ministry mouBhubaneswar, Nov 4: In a significant development, Odisha government has signed MoU with Railways Ministry to bring railway connectivity to seven districts in the state. The seven districts – Boudh, Deogarh, Kandhamal, Kendrapara, Malkangiri, Nabrangpur and Nayagarh – will get rail connectivity.

As per the reports, in order to implement this project a special purpose vehicle committee will be set up. The state government will have 51 per cent stake in this project while the rest will be borne by the Railways Ministry.

On the occasion, Union Railways minister Suresh Prabhu, Odisha Transport Minister Ramesh Majhi, Union Tribal Affairs minister Jual Oram, Minister of State for Railways Manoj Sinha and other officials were present.

Leave a comment