Odisha News Insight

Odisha PCC Team to shortlist 50 Candidates for 2019 Polls

ONI Bureau:  The Odisha Pradesh Congress Committee (OPCC) today met to chalk out poll strategies and to shortlist candidates ahead of releasing its first list of 50 candidates for the 2019 general polls. The criteria of selecting candidates for next year’s polls were also finalised.

AICC Odisha in-Charge Jitendra Singh, OPCC chief Niranjan Patnaik, leader of Opposition Narasingha Mishra and other leaders today met candidates who had lost 2014 general elections by margin of less than 15,000 votes.

As per reports, applications of the candidates will be reviewed before being sent to the All India Congress Committee (AICC) screening committee for final approval and the candidates who had lost their ‘security deposit’ in the 2014 elections will not be provided tickets for the 2019 general elections. However, new faces will be given tickets.

Also Read:  Congress To Announce Candidates For Assembly Polls By August: OPCC President

Leave a comment