Odisha News Insight

Odisha to start ‘Open Schools’ in 30 Districts in 2016-17

Industry Minister Debi Prasad MishraBhubaneswar, Oct 14:  In order to provide education to dropout students, the Odisha government has started 115 open schools in 7 seven districts in the first phase. In this regard, a meeting was chaired by School and Mass Education Minister Debi Prasad Mishra at State Secretariat on Wednesday here.

It was informed in the meeting that,  115 Open Schools were opened at 108 blocks in seven districts – Angul, Balangir, Cuttack, Kalahandi, Ganjam, Puri and Mayurbhanj. A total 3167 students have been enrolled in these schools in the first phase in 2015-16. In the next academic year 2016-17, the state government has been planning to start open schools at 341 blocks in 30 districts, according a statement issued here.

In order to enroll into these open schools, dropout students should have passed 7th class and age should be below 14 years. The dropout students can obtain matriculation certificate from the open schools by joining and applying for matriculation examinations in five subjects excluding Odia and English languages.

The Minister said that the state government would sign memorandum of understanding with the National Institute of Open Schooling for the effective management of the open schools in Odisha.

Leave a comment