Odisha News Insight

Odisha’s Barabati Stadium fails to bag Test, gets ODI

Barabati StadiumBarabati Stadium in Cuttack has again failed to bag a Test for the matches to be played during 2016-17 season. However, it got the ODI match to be played against England.

The Board of Cricket Control in India (BCCI) today announced six new centres for the matches. The cities of Rajkot, Visakhapatnam, Pune, Dharamsala, Ranchi and Indore will host Test matches for the first time and India will play 13 Tests in total during the season.

Indore, Kanpur and Kolkata will host Test matches against New Zealand, while Dharamsala, Delhi, Mohali, Ranchi and Vizag will host the ODIs.

The five-match Test series between India and England will be held at Mohali, Rajkot, Mumbai, Vizag and Chennai. ODIs will be played at Pune, Cuttack and Kolkata and the three T20 games scheduled at Bengaluru, Nagpur and Kanpur.

Australia, which would tour India in February, 2017, will play four Test matches against at Bengaluru, Dharamsala, Ranchi and Pune while Hyderabad would host lone Test match against Bangladesh.

BCCI secretary Ajay Shirke said that the new centres get matches on the basis of number of seats available in the stadium and they will obey all the BCCI guidelines.

Leave a comment